An American Girl in Washington

St. Patrick: Best Saint EVER?

Posted in All about moi, Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 18 March 2011

How was your St Patrick’s Day?  Mine was faaaabulous.  The kind that ends with a sleepover at a new friend’s house and getting to work an hour early super thankful that I already have an extra pair of jeans here.  The kind that has me rocking to a pre-release of BritBrit’s new album that is SO GOOD, I am actually going to pay for it when it comes out.  I loves me some BritBrit though.  Circus?  Please.  Genius.  And I have so much respect for her.  She brought herself out of the worst place in the world all alone when everyone not only gave up on her but were gleefully waiting for her to end in tragedy.  But nots my BritBrit.  She came back stronger, smarter, and blonder than ever.  And she’s fabulous. I also love that she has finally given up trying to be a serious artist and is embracing the gay icon that she was meant to be.  Forget Madge, Brits is on her way to Cher-dom.

Photo courtesy of BritneySpears.com/Out Mag

 

I’m not sure how this turned into a BritBrit Manifesto but so be it. What was I talking about? Oh yeah!  St Patty’s Day.  So, my new friend TG, fast on her way to becoming a DC bestie, is on the New Generation Leaders or whatever, young professionals group for the Greater Washington Boys and Girls Club and last night they had a benefit at Madame Tussaud’s.  I should say, I HATE wax figures, they are creepy as shit, creepier than clowns.  In fact, the scariest thing in the world would be a wax museum of CLOWNS!  Hold the phone.  That is GENIUS.  I am on a roll this morning.  But I digress.  Benefit.  So much fun.  Totes thought Will Smith was checking me out in the corner.  Sadly, he was the most interesting man in the room.  But I did meet a couple of great new people and another girl and I were drooling over a Chanel Iman wanna be with an amazing Celine tote and snakeskin Tory Burch ballet flats.  She special ordered the Celine from Barneys.  Must be nice.

The night ended with wine and pizza on the rooftop of TG’s Cap Hill building and then all of us crashing all over her apartment.  This morning I woke up super early, showered as quietly as I could, threw on yesterday’s clothes with my trench (thank God for trench coats btdubs) and as I checked my email on the way to Union Station, Jihee and Daniel had emailed me with the first draft of my business card!  And it’s gorgeous.  Completely sleek, classy, professional and so sophisticated. Which only added to my giddiness.  That and the fact that BritBrit was singing “How I Roll” in my ear.

Happiness, thy name is St. Patrick’s Day.  And I didn’t even have any Guinness!

I think this is the beginning of a beautiful weekend.

How was your St. Patrick’s Day?

AGinDC

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] already wrote about my love for the Brit Brit here. I wrote about what an inspiration her rise and fall and even more spectacular rise have been for […]


Leave a comment