An American Girl in Washington

Pink Feminism

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 5 August 2011

On Monday night I had the thrill and the privilege of going to see an old favorite- Britney Spears- and a new favorite- Nicki Minaj- in concert.  There were a lot of things about the concert that I loved- the lights, the costumes, the gays, Britney’s insane body- but most of it boils down to the pure, unabashed and absolutely glorious joy of being a girl.

I don’t listen to the radio so I didn’t know much about Nicki Minaj until she was on the ‘Til The World Ends remix with Brit Brit.  Once I listened to it though, I knew I loved her. The sense of humor (You was hot when? Ricki Lake.) and the girl power sold me enough that I bought Super Bass, which sold me so much that I bought Pink Friday.  And OMG did that become my newest theme album.  From “I’m the Best”-

All the girls will come in as long as they understand
that I’m fighting for the girls that never thought they could win.
Cause before they could begin you told them it was the end
but I am here to reverse the curse that they live in.

– an unapologetic celebration of making it out on your own terms, to “Fly”-

I came to win, to fight, to conquer, to thrive
I came to win, to survive, to prosper, to rise
to fly.

– the whole album is surprisingly powerful, surprisingly inspirational, and surprisingly feminist.  And you can see it when she performs. Nicki Minaj is badass. Badass in a pink wig. And heels. With hot girl dancers. And she is having a blast. I have never seen any performer, much less a rapper, much less a female rapper who usually feel like they have to make up for being a girl by being the crudest, vilest, and hardest performer out there, having so much fun. Minaj smiled the entire time like she was having the best day of her life. She engaged in cheesy acting. She killed the bad guy (girl) with a laser. She was strong and beautiful and talented and not wearing a bikini or pasties or twelve-inch heels. She was absolutely marvelous.

And then came Britney.

I already wrote about my love for the Brit Brit here. I wrote about what an inspiration her rise and fall and even more spectacular rise have been for me. So to see her in concert was absolutely thrilling. First of all, whatever drugs they had her on during the MTV awards have worn off and she was her beautiful, talented and absolutely mesmerizing self. Say what you want about Britney Spears but she is clearly a performer and she finally looked like she was free. She also looked like she was having fun, which was the theme of the night and which we haven’t seen from her in a while. The whole concert was a bit of a retrospective of her life thus far and Miss Politesse and I remarked on how amazing it must be to be in her 20s and have lived as many lives both on and off the stage as she has. It also made us wonder what we’re doing with our lives. Dag.

From now on I will always be a supporter of Nicki and Brit Brit. I think they are the manifestation of everything our foremothers fought for for so long. They’re beautiful and strong and proudly feminine and run their lives on their own terms. They make more money than most men can ever dream of and they’ve done it in their 20s and by being themselves. That’s what’s so important, they’ve done it by being themselves. This concert was the visual manifestation of everything that I love about these two women. They show us what strong girls can be. Everything. And they show us what we can do.

Anything.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

