An American Girl in Washington

Fresh veggies

Posted in Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 18 March 2011

One of the nicest things about living in Michigan is that it’s full of farmland and cost of living is really low.  This means that for three years I got really really used to 2 for $2 berries, $3 bags of apples, and lots and lots of inexpensive fruits and vegetables.  Then I came to DC.  After recovering from the sticker shock of having to pay $1 an apple or $3 for a dozen eggs, I seriously curbed my fresh eating habits and started buying frozen lima beans by the pound. This was depressing.

Thankfully, all of that is now over.  A few weeks ago I discovered Washington’s Green Grocer and if the basic concept of fresh, family farmed fruits and veggies delivered straight to your door hadn’t sold me, their super happy website and ridiculously reasonable prices would have.  For just $32 they deliver a box full of more greens than you can eat in a week, and since I’m single, it’s more than enough for two weeks!  Two weeks of fruits and veggies for $32?  This is a deal that would make FLOTUS proud.  So of course I signed up immediately and today I got my first box of vegetable goodness!  It was actually delivered yesterday but due to my St Patty’s Day hedonism, I didn’t receive it until today.

The box was amazing!!  Arugula, apples, kiwi, shiitake mushrooms, potatoes, broccoli, bananas, oranges, and stuff that I didn’t recognize and have no idea what to do with are now brimming out of my veggie drawer and onto the shelf above.  It’s too exciting for words.  Washington Green Grocer is a part of my life now, and I’m never letting go.

Happy eating!

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daniel said, on 18 March 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Holy crap! That’s a great deal. I think Jihee and I will be looking into it. 🙂

  2. Jihee said, on 23 March 2011 at 11:22 am

    Definitely!


Leave a Reply

