An American Girl in Washington

Stevia Blueberry Apple Crisp

Posted in AG Goes Veggie by AGinDC on 1 December 2013

The most obvious of the Low GI downfalls is the lack of dessert. I don’t have a huge sweet tooth (potatoes are my glycemic poison of choice) but I do occasionally like a good dessert. I thought making vegan desserts with no sugar would be impossible, but I was really really really bored this weekend, so I gave it a shot. It turns out, this super easy to make a healthy, quick dessert full of fruits and grains and only using a little bit of Stevia. I used the recipe from this Sweetleaf site and adapted it with influence by this Luminous Vegans recipe (I’m always looking for a chance to use my cast-iron skillet!). This is so easy though, you can pretty much dump anything you want into it. And easy on the Stevia, it’s really good but can be a little powdery (they haven’t solved the baking problem with Stevia yet). And, if you have an insulin issue, don’t overdo it. I had two servings (piggy, I know, but I thought it was healthy!) and I had a migraine all night. Soooo… Stevia is still a sweetener. Take it easy.

photo 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stevia Blueberry Apple Crisp

Filling

  • 6 cups fresh blueberries, rinsed, gently dried (or a bag of frozen blueberries, works really well)
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder or cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup SugarLeaf (I used 6 Stevia in the Raw packets, will only use 4 next time)
  • Juice of a lemon, divided
  • Pinch salt

Crisp Topping

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds (optional)
  • 1/4 cup SugarLeaf (I used 6 Stevia in the Raw packets, will only use 4 next time)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter, room temperature, cubed
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • Dash of Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Toss blueberries with arrowroot powder, SugarLeaf, juice of half a lemon and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, oats, almonds, SugarLeaf, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Add cubed butter and mix together until crumbly and oats look absorbed. Add water and the juice of other half of the lemon. Stir into mixture.

Pour blueberries into a 9×13 baking dish (or 12″ cast iron skillet) and spread evenly. Top with crisp mixture and spread evenly over the blueberries. Bake 30-40 minutes until blueberries are bubbling and crumb topping is golden brown.

Eat!

Leave a Reply

