An American Girl in Washington

Dressing and Cookies

Posted in AG Goes Veggie by AGinDC on 26 October 2013

photo 1Due to my new high-protein, low-GI needs, I now get to try awesome new recipes. Lots of room for experimentation! Luckily, between Pinterest and the many many food blogs out there, I am never at a loss for new things to try.

Before the new though, an old favorite. I have a favorite salad that I can never get enough of.  I rarely eat it because it’s always huge and I can’t help but eat all of it in one sitting, but it’s delicious. On Friday I had probably the hardest class I’ve ever taken at the gym and I was so exhausted and miserable that I decided that I deserved a really big, high calorie (healthy calories!) salad. Obviously, the ingredients can vary with almost any fruit and veg, but this is what I generally put in mine. I often add raisins but didn’t this time.

 

 

Big Recovery Salad

photo 2

Red leaf lettuce (anything works here)
1 Apple
1 Orange
1/2 Cucumber
10 Cherry Tomatoes
1 Avocado
1 bag Gardein Seven Grain Crispy Tenders (this is a lot but, like I said, it’s a special treat)
Sunflower Seeds
Chia Seeds

 

 

Dressing:
EVOO
Rice Vinegar
Lemon
Salt
Pepper

Chop. Mix. Enjoy!

photo 3I just made a new Creamy Cilantro Lime Dressing dressing that would probably be great on a smaller, less complicated salad. It would be too much for the salad above I think. Big ups to The Garden Grazer for this recipe! I made a few small substitutions, used vanilla coconut milk yogurt and added jalapeno and habanero and a little bit more lime. This dressing is AMAZING. It will be great on salads but tonight I used it on tacos made with whole wheat tortillas, spiced black beans and tomatoes. Delish.

 

 

 

photo 4I’m trying to find creative ways to get more protein into my diet. I had an amazing green tea protein smoothie at Protein Bar today that was fabulous but I certainly can’t afford to do that every day. So I bought some Plant Fusion protein powder,it’s vegan and a really fantastic blend. I got vanilla bean (they don’t have a non-flavored option, which I prefer). The vanilla literally tastes like cake batter when it’s mixed with almond milk. This is probably good for 99% of the population but I do not have a sweet tooth and it was hard to choke down as a plain mixed drink. And, since I don’t have a Vitamix yet and my blender sucks, I’m not making many smoothies at this point. BUT, it turns out there are great ways to use protein powder in food.

These Vegan Protein Breakfast Cookies by Newfangled Housewife were super easy, inexpensive and delicious. Plus, just half the batter made 14 cookies and I refrigerated the other half, so one batch will last me more than a week. I won’t re-type the recipe since you can just go to the blog, but definitely check it out.

photo 5

Leave a Reply

