An American Girl in Washington

Spicy Breakfast Banana Smoothie

Posted in AG Goes Veggie by AGinDC on 4 January 2013

Once I decided to do this whole vegan thing it became pretty clear pretty fast that smoothies and puddings would become a big part of my diet. So, I broke down and bought a blender (this one):

blender

and started making smoothies. I don’t think I wrote about my kale smoothie attempt. It was delicious (kale, banana, coconut milk, almond milk, ice) but raw kale should only be eaten when you are single and in for the night. And even then, I was kind of torturing myself.

So, last night I decided to make a smoothie I could drink for breakfast. Now that I’m doing this temporary doc review project, gone are the days of my Cleopatra-like late mornings followed by television followed by a long, leisurely brunch. Now it’s Kashi bars, breakfast burritos from District Taco, or nothing. So I made a smoothie that was actually pretty delicious, and that survived the night in a bottle and made it to this morning. I do need to go out and get like, protein powder or flax seeds or one of those other things that you’re supposed to add to smoothies to make them more filling and better for you. Anyways, here it is. No measurements of course. And no pictures b/c it looks a little brownish and weird in my glass bottle and I don’t want to scare you away from trying it.

Spicy Breakfast Banana Smoothie

2 Bananas
1ish cups each of coconut and almond milk (or 2ish cups of the combo)
Large dash of nutmeg
Large dash of cinnamon
Handful of walnuts
Ice

Blend

Drink

Yum

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daniel Lombardi said, on 4 January 2013 at 10:45 am

    Add almond or cashew butter and that exact recipe becomes a yummy, healthy dessert!


Leave a Reply

