An American Girl in Washington

My AMAZING Veggie Ratatouille

Posted in AG Goes Veggie by AGinDC on 22 December 2012

I am having so much fun with this pseudo-Vegan thing (that’s what I’m calling it since I’m not giving up eggs or honey or wearing leather and cashmere). I keep making the yummiest foods and finding out that my favorite restaurants make amazing meals that I never thought about. They even had pizza, which I LOVE, at my contracting gig and I didn’t even want it. I had an apple instead.

One of the things that got me really excited about my winter experiment was this article about veggie Ratatouille. It looked so amazing that I could not wait to try it. I really wanted to do it with butternut squash and luckily this week’s box from Washington’s Green Grocer had some! So today was the day. I combined the recipes from Oh She Glows and the NY Times and added some food of my own and here it is!

The AGinDC Veggie Ratatouille of Yumminess

1 Butternut Squash
1 Zucchini
1/2 Eggplant
1/2 Sweet Yellow Onion
1 Tomato
2 Turnips
2 Minced Cloves of Garlic
1/2 Cup Veggie Broth
EVOO
Handful of Fresh Green Beans
1/2 Red Bell Pepper
Fresh Basil and Thyme
Salt + Pepper
(Ingredient amounts are not exact. Do what feels good.)
 

1. Preheat oven to 375. Use these excellent instructions to figure out how to cut a butternut squash. Roast them in the oven with a couple of tablespoons of oil for as long as it takes for them to get tender. The NY Times said 25 minutes. They lied. It takes more like 40. Then again, I have a really cheap oven… so just keep checking.

photo 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. While the squash is cooking , cut up all of the other veggies. Prepare a super big skillet.

3. When the squash is done, or almost done, throw the onions, garlic and enough EVOO to lightly cover the bottom of the pan on mediumish heat.

photo 3

4. Once the onions and stuff have cooked a bit (5-8 minutes), add the zucchini, eggplant, and turnips. Let cook for 5-8 minutes (until they look almost done).

5. Add the squash. Cook for a few minutes.

6. Add the peppers and green beans. Cook for a few more minutes. (See what I’m doing here? No matter what veggies you add, just be sure you add them in order of how long they take to cook).

7. Add the basil, thyme, salt, pepper. Cook some more.

8. Add the tomatoes and broth. Let simmer.

9. Eat!

You can eat this alone or with a baguette (garlic or not), quinoa, couscous, brown rice, potatoes, or whatever else. It’s crazy delicious.

photo 4

Yum!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a kale banana smoothie (I’m in for the day) and drank it while I made a red potato version of my new ratatouille standard. I’m desperate to find a healthy way to eat potatoes since they are quickly becoming a staple […]


Leave a Reply

