An American Girl in Washington

Salad for Lunch

Posted in AG Goes Veggie by AGinDC on 13 December 2012

Today I made a delicious salad for lunch. I had such a giant box full of veggies, I figured a salad would be awesome. I cut up lettuce, carrots, celery, apples, red peppers, and clementines, threw in sunflower seeds and made my own lemon vinaigrette. It was sooo good, and there’s definitely enough for dinner.

photo 2

Fruits and veggies for my salad.

It’s weird how much my eating changed after a job where I traveled all but three days a month. I ate out. Every. Single. Day. The closest I got to a home cooked meal was ordering room service. When I came home, I was still stuck in that pattern and my lack of food in the house became a running joke among my friends. The closest I got to cooking was putting a chicken breast in my George Foreman grill (although even that was too much effort most of the time), scrambling a few eggs, or throwing a Lean Cuisine in the microwave and pairing it with some broccoli and an apple. But most of the time, I would wait forever to eat, argue with myself about what two or three local restaurants to grab a meal from, and trudge out for something fast. When you think about it, it’s pretty sad.

photo 3

My salad!

But now I’m actually spending time in the kitchen. I’m thinking about food but not in a “Crap I have to eat something, what is it going to be?” way but in a “Yaay! I get to cook. What shall I make? I’ll look up food on Pinterest!” way. I’m eating delicious, healthy food, and I’m happy about it. And I just looked back in my food journal, it’s only been a week (and I know I’m in the veggie honeymoon period), but it’s been a whole week and I haven’t wanted meat yet. So that’s exciting.

I also just started reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer. It’s supposed to be good and he’s a great writer so I’m looking forward to it.

That’s all. Tomorrow I’m making turnip chips! Woohoo!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

