An American Girl in Washington

A Yummy Detox Salad

Posted in AG Goes Veggie by AGinDC on 11 December 2012

To help me out with my winter experiment, one of my friends directed me to Oh She Glows , a super delicious vegan/veg website with lots of recipes that I can’t wait to try. The beautiful photography doesn’t hurt either!

Today, I made a detox salad which tastes great, even if it is a little chewy (lots of carrots, apples, and raisins). I included brussels sprouts, it was the first time I have ever tried them so I chopped them up really really small. I also included grated ginger root (I love ginger and just discovered that ginger root is a thing a few days ago. My new favorite tea is ginger root and lemon in hot water.) and I forgot the celery and decided to skip the maple syrup, but it still came out delicious! And surprisingly filling.

detox salad

 

If you want the recipe, go HERE.

It’s only been three days so I have no reviews of this process, except to say thank god for Chipotle. I don’t know how people eat healthy on the go without them. Especially now that it’s chilly out and I really don’t want salad when I’m outside. Also, little known fact: guac is free when you get a veggie burrito! I’ve been eating burritos (I figure I can have the extra cals in the tortilla since I’m skipping the unhealthy stuff) with brown rice, black beans, fajita veg, pico de gallo, lettuce and guac. It’s actually pretty good!

No idea what I’m making next, but try the salad!

=)

AGinDC

 

 

Leave a Reply

