An American Girl in Washington

Update

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 13 November 2012

Okay, so it’s been forever since I’ve written. I can’t help it! Life has been cray and by the time I’m done working at 3am, I just do not have the energy to blog. But winter is nigh and it’s time to recommit, so here I am, trying again. Of course, considering all of the ways that there are to keep up with me, I doubt I’ve been missed. I love Twitter.

So what have I been up to? Well, I don’t know if I’ve written since I started my new startup, Character’s Closet, this summer but yeah. Did that. Working on it now. Went to LA the week after my birthday (I’m one year to 30!) and had some awesome meetings. The “Silicon Beach” scene in LA and Santa Monica is pretty incredible and I’m super excited about spending a lot more time in SoCal. Well… a little more time in SoCal. Like, most of winter.

This is Brenna Whitaker at the W Hollywood. My new favorite Sunday night thing.

I also spent my one year to 30 with the fam in Seattle, which was great. I don’t get to see them nearly enough, which is sad when you have the cutest and most brilliant three-year-old niece ever known to man. My mother cooked so much food that I literally did not stop eating the entire two and half days I was home. I haven’t eaten since. I wish.

What else? Michelle in Training is going so well! The girls could not be more amazing, the program is working out exactly like I hoped it would and is so exciting. I highly recommend checking out our website to enjoy the moments when teenage girls are actually enjoyable. Although yes, they do frequently give me a headache. =) I have lunch with them every week at Dunbar and it’s hilarious because they are such teenagers but really marvelous girls. It’s interesting dealing with girls who are both teens and who come from such highly stressful home environments, one day I hope to have a social worker on hand but for now, I can already tell that just being consistent and caring about them is making a difference. When we first started I showed up at school every week, told them what we were doing, and told them we’d pick them up Saturday morning and they’d sort of just stare at me blankly and were never ready on time. Now, they know I’m coming to school, they harass Ms. Evers, our teacher liaison if I’m not there yet, they tell everyone in the school about what they’re doing, and they’re (almost) ready to go when we show up. In class on Saturday they asked if we can have “MiT College”. We told them we should probably try to get through 10th grade first, but it was really exciting to know that they’re thinking that far ahead and want us with them.

Right now my life has been taken over by a new project, #blackgirlshack. After attending a conference for black women with startups last month I realized that a lot of us are looking for CTOs and/or need betas of our apps built that we can’t afford to get done on a bootstrapper’s budget. So I thought, “let’s have a black hackathon!” and #blackgirlshack was born. Our first one is this friday in Atlanta and the response has been overwhelming. We’re doing it as a fundraiser for Black Girls Code and the support of the sponsors, the press and the public for the event and the organization and idea itself has been amazing. We’re already planning our next event (March in Newark!) and this has clearly taken on a life of it’s own.

 

Beyond that, I’m working on bringing back the consulting arm of LilyPad. I spend so much time helping people and businesses on a daily basis, something that I love and am actually really good at, that I thought “I should be doing this for a living”. So, LilyPad Consulting is back, and hopefully I’ll start bringing in clients soon! Stay tuned at katcalvin.com. I’m re-fabbing the LilyPad website so that’s the best place to get info for now.

Beyond that, MASSIVE RELIEF at the 2012 election results. Mo’bama indeed. I am really enjoying living on H St. The access to busses to New York, trains to the airport, walking almost everywhere and Dangerously Delicious Pies cannot be beat. I may not live here forever (I’m coming back to you, Adams Morgan!), but at this time in my life, H St is the bizness.

Also, do not see Cloud Atlas. Worst mistake I have made in my life since AI. Trust me on this.

Back to work. I’ll do my best to keep up more.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

