An American Girl in Washington

Weekend in New York

Posted in Travel by AGinDC on 9 August 2012

I’ve spent a lot of the summer in New Jersey and New York and I realized that I never write about it because it’s just so normal. But, I go to so many great places, it’s a shame that I don’t write about it more. So, last weekend while I was in NYC I was sure to take plenty of pictures of the great places I went.

I started the day at Milk Bar in Prospect Park, Brooklyn. It’s small, adorable and has great food but it’s cash only so I won’t be going back. In the days of Square, I firmly believe that if you don’t take cash, you don’t want to be in business.

After I saw my friend’s beautiful new apartment we walked to Park Slope and saw this fabulous little boutique.

Not only did this boutique have great clothes but the surprising thing is how affordable it all was!

Next we went to Trois Pommes for some iced tea and pastries. DC just doesn’t have the same European feel as New York and it’s so nice to be able to do the boutique and bakery scene sometimes.

I ended the night at Kaia Wine Bar in Manhattan. This South African themed restaurant reminded me a lot of when I lived there.

This is a terrible picture but trust me, there’s some really yummy SA sausage and chicken in there.

This was the best part of the night. Kaia’s AC was broken so they gave us these nifty little fans to use.

One of the best things about DC is how close it is to New York. For a $15-21 Bolt Bus ticket I can be in the city in just a few hours and enjoying everything that’s amazing about it, without having to live with everything that isn’t. Just one more reason that the District stays #winning.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

