An American Girl in Washington

There’s a First Time for Everything

Posted in Weekend in Washington by AGinDC on 14 July 2012

I have pretty much always been anti-hiking. Living in the Pacific Northwest, it’s a thing that gets done a lot and I have never really seen the point. Who wants to walk around a lot of bugs and trees, looking at nature and remarking on how awesome that twig over there is? No thank you.

However, in my quest to try new things and find ways to incorporate healthy activity into my every day life, when my friend Maci said she was going hiking I thought it was a good chance to try something new. And it turns out, I had a blast! Maci doesn’t go lame-o walking path hiking, she gets a serious workout. We were climbing over rocks, bending back branches and sweating up a storm. It was awesome, and now I’m totally sold. If you haven’t been hiking, head over to Great Falls National Park in Potomac, VA for anything from a beautiful hike to kayaking and even some serious weight loss. I’m planning on becoming a regular.

Gorgeous views!

This is not for the weak…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jonathon Perrelli said, on 22 July 2012 at 11:10 am

    May I suggest the Virginia side of Great Falls park as well? It is always nice to see the views from both, if not all sides 😉

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

