An American Girl in Washington

Sitting here in the Frankfurt airport

Posted in Travel by AGinDC on 23 January 2012

Hello people!

I can’t wait to write all about Lisbon but it’s going to take a lot more than my 30-minute allowance of German internet. They’re very efficient, there’s a timer and everything. I’m sitting here in Frankfurt, waiting for my flight to New York, and I am simultaneously delighted and annoyed to be in this particular airport. I’m delighted because I haven’t been to Germany since I lived here as a little girl and even just being in the airport is marvelous. I’m annoyed because they have more security measures than Fort Knox and I just had the most intrusive pat-down of my life. I’m a single girl, I’m not used to being groped in inappropriate places, even if it is by a chick. She even checked inside the zipper flat of my jeans. Seriously. I feel dirty.

I also had to show my passport about 85 times and I had to throw away a bottle of water that I bought IN THE AIRPORT! All of this after the man at the gate of my incoming flight sent me to platform 9 3/4 (if you’re not a Harry Potter fan, you shouldn’t be reading this blog) and after searching unsuccessfully for said gate for a little too long, a woman from Iran Air looked at me like the raving mad woman I am when I asked her where it was. She said, and I quote, “Yeah, that gate definitely doesn’t exist”. Awesome. I have now found my way however, and I am safely settled into my gate, waiting for a plane to fly me to Newark, so I can take a train to Union Station, so I can take the metro to Gallery Place, so I can switch to the green line and go home. It’s going to be a loooooong day.

That is all.

AGinDC

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Zulfiquar said, on 13 August 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Hai its v.nice story


Leave a Reply

