An American Girl in Washington

2 years to 30

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 21 October 2011

Yesterday was my birthday and it was quiet and low-key and wonderful just as I wanted it. I started the morning with coffee at Tynan and a meet-up with a girl at my law school who I actually helped recruit! She’s interested in following a “non-traditional” path so, of course, she was directed to me. It was so nice talking to someone from Mich and especially someone as smart and adorbs as this girl.

Then I had lunch at Vapiano (did you know there’s another Vapiano that’s not the one in Chinatown? Yeah, me either) with my two new LilyPad interns. These girls could not be more adorable, although they’re both very cute blondes with Gossip Girl names so I’m already mixing them up. I’ll have to work on that. They’re both seniors at GWU, want to go into Fashion Marketing and have amazing experience working for Vogue, Oscar de la Renta in Paris, and more. How lucky am I to have run into these girls in DC of all places? Love it.

After lunch I went home and got myself looking halfway presentable and then headed off to the White House again. This was for another panel on the American Jobs Act and although the President didn’t join us this time, it was great because we had an hour with two of my favorite Michigan Law grads: Valerie Jarrett and Melody Barnes. They both looked great, Valerie in particular looked so much more glamorous and rested then she has in a while. I was glad to see that she must have been treating herself to some well-deserved spa time. I would also kill to know who made her suit. Going to the WH yesterday was actually a surprise. @KeziaMW emailed me while I was drinking oolong and said “DO YOU WANT TO GO TO THE WHITE HOUSE TODAY? EMAIL BACK IN FIVE MINUTES!!”. I emailed back in 30 minutes but luckily it wasn’t too late. Talk about a birthday surprise!

Post-White House I had drinks with Ferr and DeanBax, who also played Happy Birthday to me on his oboe! It was a perfectly low-key and comfortable night. The best thing about my birthday was that they were all things that I’ve done before and will do again and that when I woke up the first thing I wanted to do was work and go about my day as usual. I think that’s a pretty good sign that I’m living the life I want to live.

Other things that are awesome? My roommate gave me yummy cupcakes from Sticky Fingers bakery. @danieldzn and @designbyjihee sent my gorgeous flowers. And my 2-year-old niece very deliberately signed my birthday card in neon green scribbles.

2 years to 30! What am I going to do with it?

AGinDC

 

Leave a Reply

