An American Girl in Washington

Catch Up

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 29 September 2011

I actually had to check my calendar to remember everything I’ve done since the last post. I’m a terrible blogger but there are only 36 hours in a day!

The Friday of CBC week was a blast. A couple of sessions, one with Al Sharpton and Rep. Fredericka Wilson that started 30 minutes late and then was so unprofessional and uninformed that my friend and I left in disgust. The second session wasn’t so bad, but it was run by teacher’s unions who insisted on screaming at the top of their lungs about one subject the entire time, which was unfortunate because the subject they were screaming about had nothing to do with what the panelists were discussing!

On Friday night I went to an NAACP reception welcoming everyone who flew in from around the country for our weekend training. There was absolutely delicious food, President Ben Jealous spoke, and I met the people I would be spending my weekend with. After the reception a few of us went to Rep. Elijah Cummings’ party at The Park but The Park is sooooo boring lately, I haven’t been there once this summer and actually had fun. Everyone just sits around, looking pretentious, while drunk 45-year-old men hit on 20-something-year-old girls who are waiting to pass their numbers to whatever third-rate artist is playing for free in the corner of the third floor. But, anyways, enough of a rant about that.

After The Park, a few girls and I went to DC Coast for dinner. We meant to go to a party at the Warner Theatre after but we stayed at DC Coast until almost midnight and then we were all exhausted.

Saturday was the beginning of my NAACP training. I was sure that I would be in for two days of long, boring lectures about teaching financial literacy to underserved communities but instead, the staff of the Financial Freedom Center put on an absolutely amazing training. It was never boring, I made two hilarious friends from Montclair, New Jersey and I received a stunning amount of information which I know is going to allow me to rebuild my committee and really do a lot of good work in DC. A special shout-out to Wells Fargo who, probably due to a guilty conscience, is seriously bankrolling the NAACP right now.

On Saturday night my two new friends from New Jersey and I shared a bottle of Johnny Walker Black Label and talked movies, TV and politics all night. It was a blast.

Sunday meant more training and then The Greene Turtle for the Jaguars game with @evolvingelle. Then, finally, I went home and crashed. The 25th marked the last day of a long, long summer and I have never been so relieved to have a break in my schedule. I was supposed to leave for Turks & Caicos on Sunday but due to massive tropical storming I had to cancel. No matter. I’ve been working from home, I started getting the flu yesterday so I’ve been filling myself with Dayquil, OJ, tea, carbs, and sleep. Hopefully it will all clear up soon, I already feel better today than I did yesterday. Meanwhile, I’ve had a meeting for the Washington Area Lawyers for the Arts Fashion Law Committee (stay tuned, we have awesome events coming up) and last night a happy hour for the DC Social Innovation Project at Local 16, then Doctor Who and Potbellys with DeanBax, who has been stealth for a while.

And now you’re all caught up.

Happy Friday Eve!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

