An American Girl in Washington

The first half of the week (+ the weekend!)

Posted in Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 4 August 2011

This is another one of those weeks when I was so busy living my life that I forgot to write about it! So much has happened. See below:

Friday:

After visiting a party store for LilyPad (shameless promotion! Buy a tik!) I went out for drinks with a Republican friend who works in the house. This was probably a mistake, since all we talked (read: fought) about was the debt ceiling, and then a little cap and trade, and then the debt ceiling again. But, he’s a great guy and I’m a geek so it was fun. We started at Johnny’s Half Shell, then went to a dive bar I can’t remember and then ended the night at Vinoteca (champagne mint julep, yaay!). After Vinoteca we parted ways and crashed, the Republican had golf and work in the morning and I had to go cry about the debt ceiling.

Saturday:

On Friday night I noticed a sign at Vinoteca that said $10 mimosas, bellinis, and kir royales (a fav of mine) so I headed there with an adorable Texan and we had an amazing brunch. Seriously, the French toast with the bourbon soaked apples was so good, we decided to never again eat apples that hadn’t first been marinated in Buffalo Trace. Yummy.

After brunch I headed downtown for a planning session with a young man who is planning a men’s conference next summer. More on that later.

Then I went to Founding Farmers for dinner. It was as delicious as always. I had the salmon, greens, and mashed potatoes. Out of this world. Seriously, you just cannot lose at that place. Then we hung out on the rooftop of a friend’s apartment enjoying the gorgeous weather. Summer nights… love it.

Sunday:

On Sunday I did a lot of work, had a few meetings, and then went to Ping Pong Dim Sum, which was delicious. I’m used to going to really ratty places in the shady part of town for dim sum but this place was fantastic. I will definitely be back. After dinner I went to the Britney Spears concert (!!!!!), but I’ll be writing a special post about that later.

Monday:

On Monday the girls and I went to a Nats game. Lots of fun. Lots of talk about boys. Lots of gin. No idea who won. Not even completely sure who was playing. I assume it was the Nats against someone…

Tuesday:

On Tuesday I went to lunch at my new favorite place, Lincoln, with one of the new co-founders of Graham and Peters consulting. The food was great, the company was better, and of course I’ll be back. I then had a meeting with someone I met at my last lunch at Lincoln, a marvelous bookkeeper who helped me set up my new netbook (ugh, PCs) with Quickbooks and Neat Receipts and everything else a young entrepreneur needs to not pull a Tim Geithner in 20 years.

So that’s everything up to last night, which I will write about next!

Busy days, busier nights. Just how I like it.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

