An American Girl in Washington

CB2 and BBQ

Posted in Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 21 July 2011

Last night @ji_hee_ya and I joined a Meetup group for a special event at CB2.  Since basically my entire apartment is CB2, I was totally excited about the opportunity to get some styling tips from the staff.  The event was fun but even better was the free wine and the delicious cheese.  Also the free gift, a super adorable and very CB2-like exclamation point vase.

After the event Jihee and I were famished so we headed over to Old Glory BBQ.  I had the pulled pork sandwich and mac and cheese with a mint julep and she had collard greens, mac and cheese, really delicious sweet potato fries and something I can’t remember and a peach sangria.  It was exactly what you would expect from a BBQ place in Georgetown.  The nice thing is that they have bottles with different kinds of BBQ sauce on each table so you can pick your own.  But the thing that makes BBQ great is the slow cooking in the sauce, so getting a bun with dry meat and some seasoning sprinkled on it and having to douse it yourself was not exactly appealing.  The mac and cheese also had shredded cheddar sprinkled on top of it, which seriously made me doubt the contents of the bowl.  Both Jihee and I also thought the drinks were pretty weak.

Anyways, the company was great and I got some bad news yesterday so I really needed some comfort food.  Any mac and cheese would do.

The rest of the night was full of work and delightful conversation before I finally went to bed.  Sigh.  I can’t wait for Saturday.  I need to sleep in.

AGinDC

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jihee said, on 21 July 2011 at 11:02 pm

    It was so great to see you too. I wonder where they’ll host their next event. Maybe West Elm?


Leave a Reply

