An American Girl in Washington

Cocktails at Morton’s

Posted in Cocktails, again by AGinDC on 15 July 2011

Last night I was able to take advantage of the gorgeous evening by having drinks on the balcony at Morton’s Steakhouse.  It was a friend’s birthday and we had bourbon (him) and gin (me) and talked about… actually, I have no idea.  Nothing important.  But it was nice.  I really like Morton’s.  I love the old Washington feel of the place, I love how over-accommodating the staff always is, I love the old school bartenders and the camaraderie that you always feel in rooms full of privileged white men who are just oh-so-happy to feel “hip” by being nice to the two young, well-dressed black people in the room.  It explains a lot about why so many young black men are choosing to be Republicans.  It’s just so easy.

After drinks I walked home from Farragut North to Columbia Heights.  The weather was gorgeous and it feels like it’s been so long since I’ve been able to walk around the city without becoming a sweaty disgusting mess.  I love the weather right now, I know it’s too much to hope that the days of gross humidity and frizzy hair are behind us, but for today, I’m going to pretend.

Have a great weekend!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

