An American Girl in Washington

Art is War

Posted in Book Learnin' by AGinDC on 15 July 2011

A few weeks ago at Shelley’s, my new friend Austin of We the Readers, a new DC non-profit that I guarantee you’ll be hearing a lot about in the coming months, recommended a book to me.  It’s called The War of Art and it’s one of the most extraordinary things I have ever read.

The book, by Steven Pressfield, author of The Legend of Bagger Vance among and far less embarrassing works (to be fair, I’ve never read it, just seen the previews, which was enough) like his historical novels that have gotten such amazing reviews that I have to read them (see: Gates of Fire, Tides of War, and Last of the Amazons) is a call to arms for anyone who has ever fought that greatest of foes: Resistance.  Resistance, as Pressfield so geniusly defines it, is all of the things that keep you from doing whatever it is you’re supposed to do.  And “supposed” means that which you are DESTINED to do, not just little things like taking out the trash or doing your homework.  Anyone who has ever tried and failed to write a book, start a business, complete a diet, or do anything else that takes discipline, initiative, and especially creativity knows what I’m talking about.  Resistance is the thing that tells you you’re too tired, too busy, too broke, too dumb, too slow, too fat, or too anything to do what you have to do.  I’m not explaining it as well as he does, but trust me, this is a book that you probably need to read.

It’s short, which is nice, and it’s effective, which is nicer.  You will definitely identify with a least 3/4 of the scenarios in this book.  I know I did.  In fact, it was so good, after I read it the first time, I immediately flipped to the first page and read it again.  And I will be reading it over and over and over again.  Every time I don’t want to sit down to read a book.  Every time I make an excuse not to keep up with my diet.  Every time I get too scared to follow through with an idea.  This is the book that will kick my ass and force me to be everything I’m meant to be.

And, as Pressfield says, just imagine what would happen if we all reached our potential?  This world would be an absolutely extraordinary place to live.

Read it. Love it. Do it.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

