An American Girl in Washington

Is it Friday yet?

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 14 July 2011

I can’t believe I haven’t written since Friday!

Well, actually, I can.  This week has been insane.  From meetings for Capital Cause to working past midnight every night on The Fashionable Life (more deets to come, follow @LilyPadDC to keep up!) to dealing with crises in the lives of my friends and family to working at my actual job and living with a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad roommate, things have just been a bit much.

So where have I been lately that I can review?  On Friday I went to Thunder Bar in Gtown and had a burger (I know, so bad).  It was crazy delicious and I got to hang out with my friend Nash which is always a blast.  Then I had drinks and watched SATC with TG and her friend Kim, who’s new in town.  Good times.  On Saturday I had brunch at the Busboys and Poets on 14th and U.  It was actually terrible, which is sad, but the mimosas were good and the company even better, so I was happy.  I then went to Zest in Eastern Market.  I only had iced tea but the girl I was with had the most delicious-looking brunch ever.  I’ll definitely be back for food too.  Oh!  And after that meeting I am now co-chair of a committee for the DC NAACP!  Woohoo!  I’m sure you’ll be hearing more on that very soon.

Later that same day I had drinks with my friend Em at Bar Pilar on 14th.  Great drinks, great gal, great time.  And then I went to Vapiano (of course) with the Quigleys and we saw Super 8, which was surprisingly good.  On Sunday I worked all day on The Fashionable Life expo that I’m putting on.  Allllll daayyyy.  I only left the apartment for ice cream at the end of the day because I figured I’d earned a little Chunky Monkey.  Of course, I’m a bit chunkier for it, so I probably shouldn’t have indulged…

Monday night was full of meetings for Capital Cause- lots of good stuff coming up there.  And last night I had another meeting (actually, for Cap Cause again, but this time with my best pals the Lombardis) at the Busboys and Poets on 5th and K.  I had never been to this one but it’s really really nice and very big.  I had the fuji apple and gorgonzola sandwich and it was AMAZING.  Seriously, it was worth the (considerable) calories.

And now you’re all caught up.  Fascinating, I know.  Lots planned for the weekend but I’m really hoping to get some quality time with myself and all of the work I have to do.  I just ordered yet another bookshelf from CB2!  It’s getting a little ridiculous, I’m buying business books like there’s no tomorrow.  It’s almost embarrassing to admit that I now actually own The Social Media Bible.  I haven’t read it yet but I’ll review it soon.  Oh, that reminds me, I just finished a couple of books that I need to review.  I’ll try to do that today if work gets slow…

So glad it’s Friday Eve!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

