An American Girl in Washington

The W (again) and Matchbox

Posted in Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 29 June 2011

Last night I had drinks (my favorite, St. Hilaire) at the W with my new friend Austin, who is starting an amazing literacy non-profit that you will be hearing a lot about in the future.  I’m helping him with some of the legal start-up stuff and I am so excited about what he’s bringing to DC middle schools this year.  Austin is just another example of the extraordinary innovation and passion that young people in this town are absolutely full of.  Love it!

Today, I had lunch with… what am I calling him now?  Motown?  Anyways, his wife and two daughters just moved to town and I took them to a Welcome to DC lunch at Matchbox.  The pizza was as amazing as always, of course, but sadly, the ice cream tasted like it was powdered.  It certainly was not the “gelato” that they claim it is.  Sadness.   I had never met Motown’s daughters before but they are the most gorgeous, adorable little girls that I have ever met in my life.  Seriously, now that they’re in DC, the Obama girls had better watch out.  They have some serious competition for the title of World’s Cutest Girls.  And M’s wife is so ridiculously pretty that it’s just so, so wrong.  I’m going to have to step my game up when we go out.  Clearly, I love them all and am so excited that they’re in DC.  I am already counting on us being very good friends.

I love the weather today, the lack of humidity is marvelous.  Let’s hope it’s like this through the weekend!

That’s all for now,

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

