An American Girl in Washington

Buddha Bar!

Posted in Cocktails, again by AGinDC on 28 June 2011

Last night, after another successful Capital Cause meeting (lots of great events coming July through October.  Stay posted!) I headed to Buddha Bar with my new Monday night group.  We decided to skip Shelley’s this week and my eyes and clothes and hair were thankful for it.  I love Buddha Bar, it’s where I celebrated my birthday last year.  I love upscale dining, a requirement of formality, and over-the-top opulence.  It’s why Vegas is my favorite city on Earth.  So, obvs, Buddha Bar is my kind of hang out.  Sadly, the Monday night crew is mostly made up of laid back guys who wear things like flip flops and cargo shorts, so they weren’t as thrilled with the venue as I was.  In fact, one of the guys had to borrow shoes from someone else before they’d let him in!

The nice thing about Buddha Bar is that they have a pretty decent happy hour, so everyone could drink for a reasonable price.  And their tiny spring rolls are crazy delicious.  I also love that the bathrooms were clearly designed to have sex in (Buddha Bar and Zengo both have sex-appropriate bathrooms.  What is it about upscale Asian fusion restaurants and restroom copulation?).

We finally left Buddha Bar around 10 after the tiny waitress not-so-subtly informed us that we didn’t tip enough, which, after we added up, we realized that we had actually been more than generous.  This, unfortunately, did nothing to further ingratiate the place to the guys.  I have a feeling I won’t be getting them back there any time soon.  But I’ll be back!

In other news, I am exhausted and need to take a social vacay.  Probably some time in November…

Til tomorrow,

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

