An American Girl in Washington

A Capital Success

Posted in Cocktails, again, Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 22 June 2011

Last night a new organization I’ve joined, Capital Cause, had their first event of the summer: a happy hour at Tabaq on U St.  I really like Capital Cause because their goal is to encourage DC’s young professionals to get involved in philanthropy and give of their time and (very little) money.  It’s a fantastic idea and also happens to be one of the best-connected young professional organizations in DC.  It’s actually kind of amazing how many extraordinary young DCers they have on the board and as members.  So, I was excited about the happy hour because I knew I would get to hang out with some of the great people I’ve met so far, and that I would meet tons of new folks over cocktails and networking bingo (my favourite game!).

Another thing that I really like about CC is how quickly they turn ideas into action.  I’m on the events committee and we just thought of having the happy hour a month ago or so.  But, with regular meetings (another wonderful logistical practice that so many people don’t do these days), lots of communication, and a Google group, the party was up and running in just a couple of weeks.  We very quickly had a venue (and Tabaq was awesome and gave us 10% of the bar), gorgeous posters, and 400 RSVPs within 72 hours of announcing the event thanks to the incredible network of fellow CCers.  I must have gotten about 12 emails about the event from every other listserv that I belong to.  Talk about powerful (and free) marketing.

When I first came to DC I tried to curate exactly the right kinds of memberships to help me develop a well-rounded group of friends, contacts, and experiences.  I’m still looking to round out a couple of my goal genres, but with CC I definitely found a group of intelligent, ambitious, and highly capable young professionals who are all committed to making philanthropy a part of their daily lives.  I love it!

If you want more information about Capital Cause or want to join (it’s only $30!), click HERE.

Another great event tonight, this time at Eden.  I’ll report back tomorrow!

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kezia Williams said, on 1 July 2011 at 8:48 am

    Great Post, Kelly! CC really enjoys your support 🙂

  2. […] Want to read more?  Check out the full post at An American Girl in Washington. […]


Leave a Reply

