An American Girl in Washington

Oh what a weekend

Posted in All about moi, Weekend in Washington by AGinDC on 13 June 2011

This weekend was absolutely fantastic.  On Friday night I had drinks with two friends at Bar Dupont, which we all know I love.  We were there for hours and by the time I caught the 42 home I was ready to crash- I knew I had a lot to do the next day.  Of  course, I puttered around for a while and didn’t make it to bed anywhere near as early as I wanted.  This resulted in my skipping my workout the next morning.  Oh well.

On Saturday I had an early meeting at the Washington Literacy Council, where they unveiled an exciting new strategy to make their already-effective adult literacy program even more dynamic.  I am super excited to see the results and am hoping to be at least a little bit useful to them in the coming months.  After the meeting I walked home and did some major grocery shopping.  I spent an insane amount of money on my four trips to Giant and spent so much at the corner liquor store that the man gave me a bunch of free mini bottles of Captain Morgan. Ouch. The life of a socialite is not cheap.

Once home I spent all morning chopping and prepping and cleaning and organizing, then I showered and did my nails and then I kept working.  I made a taco bar with beef, chicken, and veggie tacos, homemade guac, and my roommate made a mojito cake (from the Cakelove cook book) and a Key lime pie.  Everything was delicious, or so I hear. Somehow, during all of this, I forgot to eat. I do that a lot. By the time the party started I still hadn’t eaten, and, well, the giant bucket of mojitos I made was really good…

This was, without doubt, my most successful party thus far.  I have somehow managed to collect a fantastic group of friends in DC and most of them came out to play.  Everyone looked great and got along and the party could not have been better.  I was in social butterfly heaven.  Sadly, around midnight, Cinderella had to leave the ball because her fairy godmother forgot to tell her that lots of mojitos + vodka shots + exhaustion – food for 36 hours= meltdown.  I fell asleep at my own party!!  It was tragic.  But it was super late and everyone had a blast anyways, so I don’t feel too bad.

On Sunday I spent most of the day sitting on the couch watching movies and recapping the night with my friends.  By the time my book club met that night I was feeling dandy and super excited my late dinner at the new Tackle Box in Cleveland Park with my newly engaged friends (Yaay!).  Sadly, the Tackle Box was a disappointment.  I don’t really understand the point of a shrimp shack in the middle of DC.  The food wasn’t great, the line was annoying, the seating was atrocious, and it was all just really cheap and tacky despite the astronomical price tag.  I will not be going back.  Luckily, I was with friends so we had fun anyways.

I really could have used another weekend day, since Saturday was basically a day of hard labor for me.  But this was a fantastic weekend and I am so, so happy that the party was a success.  The next one is in August, for my one year DCversary!!!  I’m so excited, but I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do for it!  Any ideas?

God I love this town,

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

