An American Girl in Washington

Insanity, as usual

The last few days have, as usual, been crazy.  This is what happens when you live in a kick ass city.

Friday– a quick happy hour meetup at DC9 ended at 1.30am after many, many beers (not diet approved), a delicious North Carolina pulled pork sandwich (also not diet approved) and garlic fries (DEFINITELY not diet approved).  Loved the roof, loved the company, loved the food.  Good times.

Saturday– I held Guacajito Fest 2011 to find the best guac and mojito recipes for my party on Saturday.  A recipe was found.  This is the one, courtesy of Cooking with Court:

Chipotle’s Signature Guacamole Recipe

2 large ripe Hass avocado, peeled and pitted
2 tsp. fresh lime juice
2 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 cup finely chopped red onions
1 clove of garlic, finely minced
1 serrano chili, seeded and chopped (be careful not to touch your eyes after working with this)
1/2 tsp. salt

Mash up avocado with a fork or food processor. Add lime juice. Add all other ingredients and blend well. Serve with tortilla chips.

P.S. wanna keep your guac from turning brown? Keep the avocado pits buried in the leftover guac…Trust me. It’ll keep for days.

Yep, it’s delicious.

After Guacajito fest, a friend and I met up with some of his friends at Rocket Bar in Chinatown for beer and skeeball, then we went to Cuba Libre for dinner.  I had the plantains, which I always love, a pork empanada, which was incredible, and a super delicious pomegranate mojito.

Sunday– I spent most of Sunday morning working at home, then I went to an alcohol training for the Boys and Girls Club, I’m volunteering at the big barbecue battle on Penn in a couple of weeks.  Then I went to Love Cafe and had a super motivational talk with Motown for a while, and then I spent the evening working until about 2am.

Monday- After the super amazing press conference that started with Breitbart crashing and ended with the incoherent babbling of a disgraced congressman, I felt the need for emergency drinks on the hill.  So, I met up with a friend (same girl from DC9 on Friday) and another staffer at Capitol Lounge, where we had drinks and pizza and discussed everything from Weiner to the psychology of Republicans to how very very badly we want to be married to astronauts.

Tuesday– So far today I have woken up to find that my diet is somehow going along very well considering that I’ve been eating like what I just listed on a far too consistent basis, then I tried to put on my glasses and they snapped apart in my hand.  So that was good.  Thankfully, I bought a Living Social deal for My Eye Dr last week because I knew I needed new glasses, so I made an emergency appointment.  $1000 later I walked out feeling depressed, broke, and terrified that if all of these $1200 emergencies keep popping up, I’ll never be able to start a business.  But, now I have new glasses (or, I will in a week), an accurate prescription, and an extra pair of contacts to get me through the next few days.  Since it’s not even noon yet, I’m a little terrified of what else can go wrong today.  And a little excited about what else can go right.

Well, back to work now.  I need to work extra hours to make up for those damned glasses.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

