An American Girl in Washington

A Hunting Lodge in Downtown DC

Posted in Cocktails, again by AGinDC on 25 May 2011

Courtesy of azcoverme.com

Last night I had the privilege of going to Shelly’s Back Room with my friend KHam and a bunch of other guys.  I kind of love being the only girl in the group and at a classic DC cigar bar it was a blast.  Shelly’s is not a place for people with allergies, people who don’t like smoke or anyone with an aversion to plaid.  But if you like cigars, scotch, intelligent conversation and a really good meal, Shelly’s is the place.  Everything I own now smells like cigar smoke but I don’t care, it was worth it.  While drinking my Macallan (the only scotch worth drinking) I met a lot of guys who once again reminded me why I so love DC.  Some of them work at non-profits, trying to affect policy through art, religion, corporations or community action.  Some of them work for Congress.  A couple were interns, of course, the season has begun, and still others were just passing through.  All were brilliant, and as we took turns surreptitiously checking our iPhones and Blackberrys for news of the NY-26 race, I knew this was the kind of crowd I could hang in.  P.S., Paul Ryan, will you marry me?

Last night reminded me of how excited I am for the summer.  With all of the interns and summer associates and new grads coming to town, this is a time for parties (cocktail party at the firm tomorrow, woohoo!), brunches, and making lots of new friends.  However, last night it also occurred to me that I have almost been in DC for a full year!  August is my DCiversary.  I can’t believe it.  The time has absolutely flown by and even though a lot of it was really, really hard (unpacking all of my winter clothes this weekend finally allowed me to admit how hard this winter really was.  Armed only with a peacoat, a pair of ballet flats and $4 H&M gloves I couldn’t think about how poor, hungry, and cold I was until I finally got through it.  Looking at all of the scarves, coats, hats and boots I should have had made me more grateful and more proud of how hard I worked and the fact that maybe, at least for a little while, I’ve made it through that part of my life) I am so happy to have made it to the summer, and so thrilled to spend the next few months celebrating in the city.

Back to work now, another thing I’m grateful for.  I’ll definitely be back at Shelly’s for the scotch and the cigars, yes, but mostly for the good conversation.

Enjoy the weather!

AGinDC

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

