An American Girl in Washington

Finally, home

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 24 May 2011

The last couple of weeks have been crazy.  The weekend before last I drove to North Carolina for a friend’s graduation at Wake Forest.  It was a blast and absolutely beautiful and so nice to see one of my best friends in one of my favorite states.  Then last week was insane, I was working like mad to make up for missing last weekend and the coming weekend, plus I had a delicious lunch at Zengo with a friend who starts her bar class tomorrow (Good luck Yosh!), I watched the PBS Freedom Rider’s special at Southern Belle’s house, had a meeting for the events committee for Capital Cause that I just joined (lots of great stuff coming up, I’ll keep you posted), met with my chiropractor twice (the man is a miracle worker), had happy hour with a bunch of the under 30s at work, and rented a car and packed up for a whirlwind recon mission back to Ann Arbor.  I left at 2am on Saturday, drove to my storage locker in Ann Arbor (a nine hour drive), packed up all of my earthly belongings (about five hours) and drove to a hotel just outside of town.  I stayed at a Courtyard Marriott and wow have they revamped.  They’re renovating all of the Courtyards to include a snazzy first floor with new executive centers and lobbies and- most importantly- a bistro/bar.  After my super intense day I have never been so relieved to see a bar and after a burger and fries, two margaritas and a cosmopolitan, I finally crashed in my room and slept like a vampire at noon.  The next morning at 6 I packed up and drove back to town.  It only took 8 1/2 hours to get back- I really wanted to get home- and then I spent two hours unpacking the car and a few hours unpacking boxes before I fell into a deep sleep.

Foolishly, I woke up the next morning honestly thinking that I was going to get up, work out, and go to the office.  Hahahaha.  My body had other ideas.  My muscles decided to remind me that I am not, in fact, a 16-year-old boy and retaliated against my weekend mission with such force that I decided to stay in bed and work from home.  It worked out well though because once the painkillers took effect I made use of my last day with the rental car and bought shoe racks from the Container Store and a filing cabinet and office chair from CB2.  I then spent the rest of the day working and watching Indiana Jones in my PJs.  I got hungry later and finally, finally discovered really good beef chow mein.  I have been on the hunt for good chow mein in this town for months now and somehow I get something different every time I order.  This time, I had a long discussion with the woman at Yum’s Carryout who informed me that New York chow mein is lo mein here and I decided to trust her. OMG, so delicious.  IDK what’s up with the mislabeling but from now on, Yum’s is for me.

After unpacking my things I started to go through a little first world shock.  I moved to DC with one suitcase and after a very, very tough winter I had gotten used to living a minimalist lifestyle and rotating the same clothes (with a few new additions after I got my job) and had even started to think that I had too much.  Then reality hit.  I went from five pairs of shoes to 96.  I went from two jackets to 12.  From one hat to 14.  From no mugs to 25.  From 3 dvds to over 200.  I even now have two printers, two televisions and two dvd players.  It’s insane.  There is absolutely no excuse for such excess.  And the sad thing is, I gave a whole truckload of stuff to the Salvation Army in Ann Arbor and still had to throw stuff away that wouldn’t fit in the car.  I keep looking around my room absolutely shocked at how much stuff I have.  There are pictures on the walls.  Blankets and throws everywhere.  No place for my clothes and books.  I have to buy a dresser and another bookcase.  I don’t know what to do with myself.  I don’t know how I fit all of this into a dorm room.  I am very, very happy about the shoes though.  It’s all a little overwhelming.  I’m hoping to spend this weekend organizing things, maybe then I can get a handle on the explosion that is my bedroom.  It looks like Nordstrom Rack threw up on a Borders in there.  Sigh.

I’m happy though.  Almost everything I own (except for a few things at my mother’s house) is in DC now.  No more having to buy duplicates of things.  No more paying a storage fee.  No more splitting my life between regions.  For a girl like me, who moves every nine months, who hesitates when asked where she’s from, who loves storage lockers with an unnatural affection, having all of my stuff in one place is really, really nice.  My life will always be a little unstable (going into business for yourself does that) but being settled into a home for the first time feels great.  I own furniture for the first time in my life.  I don’t have a storage locker or an escape plan.  I’ve signed a year’s lease.  It’s terrifying.  Horrifying, in fact.  Because what if I can’t pay my rent?  What if I have to move on a dime?  What if, what if, what if.  But then again, what if everything is okay?  Hahahahaha, who am I kidding?

That never happens.

At least everything’s all right today.

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

