An American Girl in Washington

I have a job! (kind of)

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 9 February 2011

Can a sistah give a shout out to Craigslist?  Holllaaaa!

I’ve been keeping track of CL on a regular basis looking for random jobs and gigs that might be of interest.  Usually they only ask for models, nannys, and random misspelled non-existent job descriptions and I keep it moving.  Occasionally I email someone about something and they don’t respond and I forget about it.  But, on Monday, I saw a listing for a contract attorney at a firm and I decided to write.  I heard back that night asking if I could interview the next morning.  Of course I could!  The interview was great and they’re clearly desperate (I think that has more to do with it than the strength of my interview…) so he said I was hired and asked if I could start tomorrow.  Why yes I could.

So, today, for the first time since before I graduated from law school, I got all gussied up in my professional gear (I took myself shopping in Georgetown yesterday and looked super cute in taupe bootcut trousers from Banana Republic with a dark lilac BR Monogram blouse with beaded straps, a dark grey J. Crew Jackie Cardigan and black Super 120s J. Crew blazer, Prada buckle flats and a gold and pearl necklace with little pink ribbons from Ann Taylor and cream pearl stud earrings. I recognize that this is basically the yuppie wardrobe of the century but it was still tres adorable.) and headed to work.  It has clearly been a while since I had a job because rather than feeling the sense of impending doom and depression that I usually get when I walk into law firms, I felt light and happy and excited.  The idea of being able to buy groceries without guilt was working its magic on me.  It also helped that this is a class action firm and they do amazing work on behalf of the little guy.  In fact, I may have found a new career path, because until today I had no idea that there are firms that actually do civil rights class action.  WTF Mate?? How did I not know about this??  There’s a way to do civil rights law and make firm money at the same time?? Sign me up!  I have never been so excited before.  Imagine getting paid to work for the little guy.  This is why Patty Hewes is my hero.  This job was serendipitous and it’s only the first day but the opening of this door is a revelation.  I am definitely going to spend the next two months or however long this lasts learning all about this exciting new career prospect.

It feels great to be employed, even if it is temporarily, especially since I have to start doing things like pay rent next month.  It also felt great to be wearing something other than the four pairs of pants, five sweaters, ten blouses, two skirts and one dress and one suit that I’ve been wearing for the last six months (okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit, but not by much).  With this new job I’ll actually be able to shop again!  I found a gorgeous dress at H&M that had been reduced to $5 (how much do I love H&M?) and the perfect cropped black jacket at Zara for $80 that will definitely be my springtime staple.  Finding the perfect black jacket is almost impossible and the one I really wanted was a Theory jacket for $320.  This one is gorgeous and affordable and I couldn’t be happier.

So, yaay for having a job and new clothes and all of those other feel good things like friends and shelter and lots and lots of wine.  Ferr and I celebrated with Chandon champagne last night and I have to say it was well deserved.

Even so, it feels weird being employed.  I’ve gotten so used to having nothing to do all day and part of me never really thought I’d get a job, even a temporary one.  One day it’ll be nice to be stable, but for now, I’m just happy to be getting paid.

Holla!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

