An American Girl in Washington

The Botanic Gardens, minus Hawaii

Posted in Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 2 February 2011

On Sunday, my friend Bax came in from Triangle, VA (don’t ask, it’s not a real place) and we headed out for a day on the town.  After spending what felt like hours looking for parking because he refuses to ride the Metro (he thinks he’s cooler in his car.  He’s not.)  we finally headed to Union Station for lunch at the Center Cafe.  I usually eat at Chipotle if I’m famished and Union Station is the only thing nearby, but the Center Cafe was actually pretty good.  It was also nice sitting on the second level and people watching as we ate our nachos and quesadillas.

After lunch we decided to go to the Botanic Gardens, since that was the only place on the Mall that I haven’t been yet.  It was gorgeous.  Not only is it the warmest place in town right now, but the plants and flowers are beautiful.  I’m not much of a horticulturist (I once killed a cactus) but I love flowers and am dying to take a class or something one day to learn more about them.  But even an ignoramus such as I could appreciate the incredible smell, the calm that comes over you in a room full of lush vegetation, and the amazing orchids.  Sadly, the Hawaii room was closed, but that just gives me an excuse to come back in March.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our last stop of the day was to the National Gallery.  Bax is reading the autobiography of a 16th Century Italian painter whose name I have by now forgotten.  Anyways, we decided to see if the artist had a piece at the museum (he did) and then raced to find it.  This was a serious bet, a whole dollar was on the line.  Being broke and more than slightly competitive, I was determined to win and I quickly discovered that being a girl can be incredibly helpful in these kinds of situations.  Or at least, it should have been helpful.  Sadly, as nice as the guards may have been, they weren’t too sure about gallery numbers.  So, after running around the museum like an ill behaved child on a field trip, I finally made use of the information desk (with Bax close on my heels) and found the mystery work of art first.  Turns out it was just a coin, but a beautiful one with a Pegasus on one side.  Either way, I got my victory shot and a dollar bill for my troubles.  After spending a good twenty minutes pondering and Googling a painting, I decided that this is definitely the best way to visit a museum.

To end the night, I went to a birthday party for a new friend at Logan Tavern on P Street.  Logan was just featured in DC Mag as one of DC’s restaurants that gets their food from local farmers and I was super excited to go.  All I can say is that my burger and fries were delicious, so if that’s the result of local farming, I’m all for it.

All together, a great Sunday in DC.  Love it.

Love ya!

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jiheeya said, on 2 February 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I love Logan Tavern too. They have a great HH deal.

    • agindc said, on 3 February 2011 at 10:54 am

      Really? I’ll have to go there for happy hour. Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

