An American Girl in Washington

Southern belles come to town

Posted in All about moi, Cocktails, again, Just another day in DC by AGinDC on 18 January 2011

I have been looking forward to this weekend for months because my two besties from my TFA days were coming to visit ! Meka and Meyers live in Winston-Salem and Atlanta respectively, and we were all teachers in South Louisiana together back in the day.  Although we have now moved on we tried to see each other at least once a year, and this year they came to visit me!  They refused while I was in law school (southern girls don’t like snow and I lived in Michigan) so this whole “once a year thing” is really only two years old.

It’s so exciting living in DC now, for one because it’s the first place I’ve ever lived where everyone wants to come to visit (and can afford to, living overseas doesn’t count) and it’s also the first place I’ve ever lived where people are always coming through here anyways.  It’s also one of the few places I’ve lived where I am extremely proud to show off my town.  All that to say, I love love love have friends come to visit.

I took the girls to Afterwords for brunch, of course.  So far I think it’s the best breakfast in town, and it’s so full of calories that I only allow myself to have it when I have guests.  After Afterwords we were so full that we wobbled back to the house and ended up talking ’til it was time to go to the happy hour I had planned.  Unfortunately, this was not my best laid plan.  I had invited people to go to Ben’s Next Door, not thinking about the fact that not only was it a three day weekend but it was also the Saturday night of NFL playoffs!  So, the place was crowded and luckily I didn’t have a huge crowd at the happy hour.  But I love me some Ben’s Next Door and the happy hour included $3 drafts, $5 wine and rail drinks and $5 food from Ben’s.  Yup, that’s right, $5 chili half smokes, chili cheese fries, buffalo wings and so much more.  Yum.

The next day I had to work and the girls went off and did their independent thing.  Then they met up with me at Sweetgreen, which of course they loved.  M & M loved how many salad places we have around here, there are no restaurants full of salad in Winston-Salem!

It was a short weekend but a great one.  A chance to catch up with old friends, remember the past and, oddly enough, see how much they have grown and how much I have changed too.  The weirdest thing about seeing people you haven’t seen in a long time is that you can see yourself in the way you see them.  It was strange seeing how much I’ve changed since I was 21 and just starting Teach For America.  I’m 27 now and just starting life and I couldn’t be more of a different person.  I see that sometimes on my own, but all of the time when I’m with the girls.  I guess that’s part of the value of keeping old friends.  Wow.  The things you think of when you grow up.

Now I’m on a BoltBus to New York to get sworn into the bar!!  It’s the first time I’ve left DC since I got here in August and I’m excited to see my friends and NYC again but was definitely a little sad driving out of the District.

See you soon!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

