An American Girl in Washington

The Palace gates are closing

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 28 December 2010

Last night I got the news I was expecting, but that hurt all the same.  The Lady of The Palace kicked me out.  She was cordial about it.  She said that she has a friend coming to live here, which is a lie of course, but it was nice of her to pretend and she gave me two months to get my life together and get the h out.  I’m a little devastated because I’ve come to love this place so much, because it changes all of my plans for the next few months, and just because my feelings are really hurt.  Of course, since I knew this was coming (one of the benefits of being a lone gypsy is that your intuition is pretty damn good), I cried about it last week and figured out how I would deal when it happened.  I always have an escape route planned.  I used to know exactly how long it would take me to pack everything I owned and throw it in my car, I was usually within ten minutes of my estimate.  So, when she told me last night at midnight before she left the next morning (she likes to deliver bad news at the last minute so there’s no time for awkwardness), I was shaken but okay.

Part of the reason that I expected this is that I was starting to feel safe and at home and that’s generally when my world gets shaken up.  The Powers That Be, whoever they are, don’t like it when I start to feel comfortable and I’ve never in my life been in one place for two long.  I moved six times in two years in Louisiana, four times in one summer in Cambodia, twice in a semester in South Africa.  That’s pretty much the way my life goes.  It keeps me on my feet, keeps my instincts honed, and ensures that there isn’t much I can’t survive.  I didn’t mind it so much when I was 21, but I’m three years to 30 now and I just want to settle down.  Maybe this time it’s a sign from the PTB that I need to start thinking about getting my life in order and buying a place that no one can kick me out of.

For now though, I’m super excited because two of my friends were looking for a third roommate anyways and I had already been thinking that if I had a job I would love to shack up with them.  Now I am, but I know I’ll have to take up a couple more part time jobs to do it.  Eh.  I’ve had to do that before.

Still, I can’t believe how lucky I am to have had six months of rent free living in an amazing house in DC.  I never would have been able to come here without this place, and in just the last four months I’ve put together an amazing group of friends and social contacts, I’ve started volunteering regularly at a place I love, have joined committees and networked my ass off and even scored a beginning-of-the-year meeting with the man who is in charge of doing what I want to do for the entire country.  It’s been a busy four months and I’m pretty proud of how well I’ve done.  I didn’t cave and just take any job that was lying around, I worked hard and sacrificed and even worked retail during the holidays so that I could find something that I really love to do, that will lead to a meaningful career and that won’t have me miserable for the rest of my pathetic life just because I got scared.  One good thing of having always been poor is that the threat of being broke isn’t really a threat.  And now I have two months to a deadline which was much more than she had to give me.  I went through the five stages of mourning last night and I’m finally at acceptance, and gratefulness, and excitement.  It was getting tiresome living all by myself in an empty mansion anyways, always having to watch my back and cover my steps so the two old, lonely women who run the place don’t get mad at me.  Plus, The Lady called me fat yesterday.  To tell you the truth, that was really the last straw.  I’d much rather make cupcakes for The Rev and Boat Shoes.  What an appropriate New Year’s gift.

And now I know that Ikea bag really was a way of telling me to get the hell out.

🙂

Have you had any New Year’s epiphanies?

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Toddy said, on 28 December 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Wow. I am way too much of a control freak to live like you. I wish I were more self-sufficient and easy going. New reader looking foeward to more. Cheers, T.

    • agindc said, on 29 December 2010 at 9:50 am

      Thanks! Self-sufficency isn’t always all it’s cracked up to be, but this kind of life definitely teaches you to roll with the punches! Thanks for the reading, I’m going to start reading yours for workout motivation!


Leave a Reply

