An American Girl in Washington

I guess this is a good thing?

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 13 October 2010

Apparently, folks in DC are generous with their time.  When I first got here I was all excited to become a mentor and I found an awesome program called Mentor’s Inc.  I called, we spoke, I was interested, I filled out the application and got the references.  But, they required a $40 application fee and being unemployed and all (and, admittedly, spending that much each week on happy hours posing as attempts at networking but that were really only veiled excuses to drink on the cheap) it took me a few weeks (read: two months) to get the cash together.  As soon as I did, I sent it in, and lo and behold!  They ran out of money and can’t pair any more people!  Aaaargh!

This is devastating on two three four levels:

1.  I was really looking forward to being a mentor and starting a volunteering gig in the city.

2.  Some lucky kid is being deprived of my mentorship.  In fact, lots of lucky kids are being deprived of good mentors.  This saddens me.  It probably saddens them too.

3.  Perhaps a little prematurely, I already added the “mentor” thing to my resume and have been sending it out!  I even put the name of the org!  Damn.  Maybe I shouldn’t have but who gets rejected from volunteering?  And having just moved here, it’s not like I have a lot I can say I’m super involved in.  One meeting does not equal “active” and everything costs something to join!  Poopity poop poop.

4.  I can’t imagine how much money it costs to just pair up two people, especially when one of those people is paying for their own application fee, but it’s sad that in these here economic times there ain’t enough money in the coffers to bring together two more.  That’s the economy, Mr. President.

Anyways, now I’m frantically searching for another mentoring/volunteering op.  Mostly because I’ve been here for more than two months now (yaay!) and a little because I need something to put on my resume/talk about at my imaginary interviews.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks for being so freakin’ generous DC.

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mahoganie said, on 13 October 2010 at 10:33 am

    Try the High Tea Society. I’ve written articles on them as well as a quasi-mem. I signed up for the mentoring program under them a few years ago, but unfortunately never really settled down into the role. (shame) The organization is excellent as its focus is on young females in the DC public school system, the org is like this extra support for the girls to help them navigate those tough times in school and in life in general. It’s several components to the org.. take a look and read up here. They do hold interest meetings for those interested in joining. http://www.thehighteasociety.org/

    This is one of the articles I wrote up on them. http://www.thecommondenominator.com/110501_news4.html

    Good luck with your search!

    • agindc said, on 13 October 2010 at 10:37 am

      Oh wow, thanks! This actually looks really interesting. I’ll let you know what happens!


Leave a Reply

