An American Girl in Washington

Blue Skies

Posted in All about moi by AGinDC on 8 October 2010

After another soul-crushing shift at Local Department Store yesterday, I came home holding back the tears and too hungry to eat either the canned black beans or frozen broccoli that stock my kitchen.  I wanted to die and barely managed to send out two resumes (shitty work is a hell of a motivator) before I crashed, too tired to even watch Craig Ferguson.

This morning though, I woke up, realized I had forgotten to do the three dishes in the sink, ran downstairs to apologize to the housekeeper (yes, you read that correctly) and went back to bed.  When I woke up the second time, my first LDS paycheck was in the bank (not enough to even pay this week’s bills, much less last or next week’s), the sky was blue, and I got a phone call from my new friend ChiChi asking if I’d like Dylan tickets for my birthday.  Hell to the yes I would!!!

With my morning off to such a Bobalicious start, I decided to count my other blessings.  For instance, yesterday when I saw my paystub I noticed that I was being paid a full dollar less than I had been promised.  I talked to my manager who fought for me for a full half hour after she should have gone home and I got it!  Holla at more money and two people I just met who are already acting like good friends!  (Yes, I was momentarily dropped into a deep depression when I realized that I was celebrating that my pay had gone from $8.50 to $9.25 but then I decided that that extra $17 a week is two days of  groceries and I went with it).

Next, I counted the two Mount Holyoke alums who I’m meeting with today and next week who are trying to help me get jobs.  Thank goodness for uncommon women and alumni connections!

Next I counted The Palace, of course.

Then I counted my old and new friends in DC who are making my life here not only tolerable, but actually a lot of fun.  I also counted my unemployed friends who remind me that I’m not the only one in this predicament (special shout out to my friend, the waitressing engineer!)

Then I counted happy hour.

Twice.

Then I counted the usual, family, friends, health, gin, Three Buck Chuck, etc.

And then I went to the gym and sweated out the rest of my aggression.

And now everything is blue skies.

Have a great weekend!

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My Inner French Girl said, on 12 October 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Don’t you just love when the universe decides to spare you a dime? 🙂 Every now and then I go through the same clusterf*** kind of day, and then something totally unexpected happens — a strong prospect calls, my husband brings home my favorite chocolate bar, I hear about a new French-theme book that’s just come out — and all of a sudden the world seems a lot sunnier. I guess it’s true that our emotions are really all within our control. It’s just hard to believe it when everything just seems to be so darn challenging!

    Congratulations on the “raise!” 🙂

    Salut,
    Marjorie

    • agindc said, on 12 October 2010 at 11:01 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, things are going to be ok. I’ve picked up a couple of side jobs doing some writing and random admin work and once they start paying I should be able to stop eating rice and beans and actually splurge on some protein, woohoo!!


Leave a Reply

