An American Girl in Washington

Making Emily Post proud

Posted in Local Arts and Artists by AGinDC on 28 September 2010

In the days before Facebook, Army brats like me had a serious dilemma.  We were constantly making friends and moving, making friends and moving, over and over.  Every summer we left our old homes for new ones and there was no simple internet social networking tool to help us keep in touch with intercontinental friends.  Heck, there was no internet.  Back in those days, the good ol’ days with the snow and the hills both ways and the potatoes in our pockets to warm us on the walk and then be eaten for lunch etc. etc. etc., in those days we had to use something that no pre-adolescent in today has ever heard of:  stationery.

Yep, as a child my mother would make us sit down and write actual letters.  With pens and envelopes and stamps and everything.  It was divine.  You’ll never get a letter, my mother would always say, if you don’t send one.  And, since getting mail is the best thing ever, my brother and I would send send send.  To this day, I hate my handwriting and adore stationery, and quite often sending little handwritten thank you and “I’m thinking of you” cards has reaped rewards even better than the thrill and satisfaction that I get from little Kate Spade and Smythson & Bond and Crane boxes full of cards and personalized paper.

So, imagine my thrill when I discovered an adorable little shop in Friendship Heights called Write For You.  How cute is that?  The shop is run by two lovely ladies who do everything from print personalized cards and invites in-house (who does that anymore?) to offering all of the best name brand stationery for special order.  Plus, of course, they have tons of adorable cards and gifts and stationeryesque products that you just don’t see anywhere else.  They pride themselves on finding great products that no one else carries and I quickly made a list of about 45 things I absolutely have to have, immediately.

I love finding wonderful local stores run by really good people. I also love anything that helps me connect with the people I care about and those I want to get to know better.  Write For You combines those two loves into one delightful little package and I can’t wait to go back.  They’re totally worth the four stops on the Red Line.

Go!  Visit!  Write!

Love,

AGinDC

Write For You

3807 McKinley St. NW

Washington, DC 20018

202.686.7060

http://www.writeforyoudc.com

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. carlyle smith said, on 29 September 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Well stated. I too enjoy handwritten notes & letters. I am currently “in transition” but my most recent job was Director of Sales for Crane & Co’ Papermakers.

    The art of sending personal notes & letters isn’t dead but is dying. Fortunately there are some people who still enjoy sending notes/letters and everyone enjoys receiving them !

    • agindc said, on 30 September 2010 at 12:23 pm

      Wow, I would die to work for Crane or someone like them! I was actually interviewing for a job at Write For You that I couldn’t take b/c of scheduling issues but they might still be looking for someone if you’re interested!


Leave a Reply

