An American Girl in Washington

I want to go to there

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 5 September 2010

Liz Lemon and I have a lot in common.  Too much.  In fact, pretty much everything except she’s the head of a major network television show and I’m… well… not.  But other than that, yep, pretty much the same.

That’s why my inner Liz and I both freaked out when we discovered the most amazing hidden foodie haven just a few blocks from my house.  Every weekend on the corner of Columbia and Euclid (Right of 18th St and across the street from Safeway) I have seen a bunch of tents with a few people milling around.  I haven’t bothered to look because a) I figured it was crafty shit that I’m not really into and b) as a rule, I don’t carry cash.  It’s a dumb rule, I know.  Anyways, today it was cooler than it has been in weeks and the shade was on the right side of the road so I followed it into the minuscule little park filled with tents and what appeared to be an eclectic assortment of hobos.

It turns out that a small slice of Latin American foodie heaven pitches tents and serves up amazing food right by my house!!!  It’s called the Mi Tierra Farmer’s Market and it’s run by an organization that helps Latin immigrants become financially independent.  If that isn’t enough to get you there, I’ll tell you what is: Empanadas.  Arroz con Pollo.  Carne Asada.  Yummmmm…

Had I known about this place sooner, I would have scrapped my dumb no-cash rule ages ago.  Luckily, due to a happy accident, I happened to be carrying a Jackson with me and after walking past delicious looking tents with flags from Argentina, Mexico, and I-stopped-looking-because-the-food-was-making-me-dizzy, I stopped in El Salvador.  Of course, I didn’t realize that it was El Salvador at first because a giant picture of Carne Asada had hypnotized me.

But, as the incredibly friendly and not bad-looking young man was filling my styrofoam to go plate with perfectly seasoned meat, rice with beans and peppers, spicy green chile sauce, homemade tortillas, a huge stalk of cilantro and a giant slice of avocado, I decided to scrap this whole DC thing and more to El Salvador at once!

I adore this city for a million reasons, but none more than the joyous surprises that seem to await me at every corner.  The adorable boutique full of hand-made jewelry and funky hats, the live jazz serenading me as I walk down 18th for a pint of B&J’s (that’s Ben and Jerry’s for the uninitiated) on a Saturday night and the smorgasbord of Latin delights that I didn’t know existed but will now be part of my weekly diet.  Every surprise adds more depth and flavor to my life and leaves me on the edge of my seat, wondering what could possibly be next.

The Mi Tierra Farmer’s Market is at the corner of Columbia and Euclid every Friday through Sunday from 8am-5pm. The Carne Asada dude told me it’s best to come around noon while everything is fresh and they still have all of the ingredients. Also, you’ll be hungry.  Oh, and the meal cost me $8 (they don’t list prices on the picture menus so you have to either ask or wait to be surprised…)

I’m off to enjoy my Carne Asada.  Have a great Sunday!

AGinDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. herbanlifestyle said, on 5 September 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I’ve driven by that market many times, but have never stopped to check out what was going on. Thank you for sharing your experience. I will definitely have to stop next time!

    • agindc said, on 5 September 2010 at 10:46 pm

      Yaay! I’m glad to hear it. The Carne Asada at the El Salvadorian tent is ah-mah-zing. I’m in luuuv.


Leave a Reply

