An American Girl in Washington

Maddy’s Bar

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 3 September 2010

Today, after yet another disastrous day at Local Department Store (I got a job! Yaay!  But they’re chaotic at best.  Boo.) Yosh invited me to happy hour with her mentor, a wonderful older man named Steve, and three other friends, another Steve, a guy who’s name I can’t remember right now, and a girl who was possibly named Ellen.  It was a totally typical DC meeting, as two of the members of the crowd worked for politicians, one was a banker, and one was an older white guy who has enough money to have spent some on a lesbian chick flick in the 90’s.  I’m Netflixing it now, I’ll review later in case you’re interested.

Anyways, Maddy’s is a very cool little pub on Connecticut, right by Bistro du Coin, which I wrote about in a previous post (scroll down).  Everyone was incredibly nice and funny and slightly drunk and relieved it’s a Friday before a long weekend and generally just the way I like them. Also, Adam, our server, was not at all bad looking and very quick with the extra G&T’s, which were enormous.  Not sure how much anything was since I didn’t pay but it was happy hour in DC so you can probably guess.

There’s nothing I like more than meeting fantastic people and chatting it up with an old friend, so tonight was fantastic.  And now I’m skipping the gym for the first time in weeks and ordering Chinese since I’ve already broken my diet three times today (also the first time in weeks, yaay me!).  I think this Labor Day weekend is going to be fantastic.

Have a fabulous holiday!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

