An American Girl in Washington

DIY Furniture

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 26 August 2010

Today and yesterday have been pretty uneventful.  I had an interview that turned out to be mis-scheduled due to the employer’s mistake, I read a little, watched a little TV, did very little research, and today I went to Ikea!  I love Ikea.  Don’t you?  Doesn’t everyone?

The wonderful but sad thing about the Palace is that there really isn’t anything that I need to buy for the house.  Luckily, my friend who just moved to an apartment a few blocks away is in need of everything so I got to do some heavy-duty Ikea shopping vicariously through her.  Since neither of us brought automobiles we rented a Zipcar, which are so easy to get here in DC.  In Ann Arbor there were only a few places with a few auto options and by the end of law school I had driven them all.  However, here in DC there are tons of cars, from Mini Coopers to Volvos and there are parking spots everywhere, there’s even one on my street!  LOVE.  Today we got a Honda CR-V (which made me miss my lovely little totaled CR-V) and packed it full of boxes and blue bags and various toys and sundries. Now that I know that Zipcars are so close, I may be using them more often, like, for instance, to visit the two new Nordstrom Racks that I heard about on the radio in the Zipcar.  There’s nothing a Seattle girl loves more than a Nordstrom, except, of course, for a Nordstrom Rack!

So, Ikea was lovely and fun and Swedish and we had a marvelous time.  Then we came home and had our assess kicked at a super intense class at Mint (has anyone ever done TRX before?  I just got a taste today and I LOVE it!) and then we had omelets and put together her Ikea furniture.

Good times were had by all, but as I was walking home down 18th street and saw all the guys and dolls dressed up and having a fabulous time, I couldn’t help but think about my own lost social life and wonder when, if ever, I’ll start making some friends and having fun again for myself.  Sigh.

Oh well.  ‘Til then, I’ll keep putting together someone else’s furniture.

Ciao!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

