An American Girl in Washington

Two delicious DC staples

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 23 August 2010

Tonight I had the privilege of discovering two delicious DC staples- Pizzeria Paradiso and Larry’s Ice Cream.  Both were gastronomical delights and both will be regular stops for me from now on.

First, my darling and adorable friend Yosh (whom I appreciate so much more after she showed off her vintage Stewart Weitzmans.  I love having fashionable friends) had dinner at P.P.  I had never been before and wasn’t sure if I should trust her when she said they have “delicious pizza”.  Many have made that lofty claim and few have lived up to the promise.  But, as usual, Yosh did not disappoint.  I had the Atomica pizza, a delicious blend of tomato, mozzarella, salami, olives, and hot pepper flakes.  The toppings were incredible, fresh and generous, but what really makes this pizza is the crust.  It’s thick, crunchy, and hot and is obviously heated in a divine oven filled with tiny fire-breathing dragons after the crust is mixed with fairy dust and rolled with the tiny hands of tiny elves.  Or at least, that’s what it tasted like.

In fact, the pizza was second only to the wonderful conversation that I always have with Yosh.  I’m devastated that she’ll be leaving for London soon but so lucky that she’s here in DC for now.  😉

After the pizza I was in dire need of ice cream (as always and contrary to my new nutritionist’s instructions… oops) so Yosh insisted that we head over to Connecticut Ave to try Larry’s homemade ice cream.  O.M.G.  I had a scoop of lavender and a scoop of vanilla and I was in heaven.  The lavender was light and creamy and tasted just like lavender smells.  The vanilla, and I consider myself a connoisseur of vanillas, was divine.  I tasted each minuscule little bean as it bounced around my taste buds, rolled down my tongue and into my waiting tummy.  Yum.

One of my favourite things about DC is all of the amazing local restaurants and boutiques.  In fact, WaPo featured a few amazing local designers who I will definitely be patronizing often:  Artistic Aya, Hugh and Crye, and Treasury.  I’m all about supporting local talent and with talent like this, I’ll have the best wardrobe in the city in no time!  Go there!  Shop!  Support local artists!

Live long and prosper,

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

