An American Girl in Washington

A rainy day

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 18 August 2010

I woke up this morning, turned on the tv, heard the anchor say “It’s a wet, awful day out there.  I recommend you go back to bed.”  So I did.

A few hours later, I tried again.  This time it took, if only because the maintenance man was on his way to fix my leaky air conditioner.  Turns out the Palace isn’t perfect.  After he left, I made some breakfast, ate, tried to dry the paper (finally had to cook it in the oven), and started to plan my day.  Except, I didn’t have anything to do.  Today was the first day since I’ve been here that I haven’t even had an errand to run.  I watched a few episodes of Seinfeld and thought to myself, “So this is what it feels like to be unemployed.”  I felt like George Costanza.  And not in a good way.

Never have I been so connected to Twitter.  I know all about the fabulous lives of people tweeting from their phones while running from meeting to lunch date to client and back to meeting.  I’ve memorized the HuffPo headlines.  I even tackled the God-awful New York Bar Association application that I would rather avoid.  All of that got me to about noon.  The NYT has an article today about 20-somethings who are falling behind the “adult” curve.  Honestly, I just think society is improving.  I’m not entirely sure how it’s a bad thing that girls aren’t getting married at 21 anymore.  But they talked about a guy who hung his PhD in his room at his parents’ house because he is now officially overqualified for a job.  I understand.  Before law school, getting a job at the mall was no problem.  Now, it’s like climbing Everest.  I’ve already seriously reduced and redacted, but I can’t bring myself to lie on my resume.  Partially, it’s because I’m afraid I’ll get found out and sacked.  Partially, it’s because I worked damn hard for that law degree and would at least like to list it in two lines on an application.  For the Gap.  Awesome.

The sad fact is, I’m actually supposed to be writing right now and all of this Twitter-Seinfeld-blogging madness is just my way of avoiding something I’m terrified to do.  Nothing in my life up to this point has at all indicated that I am capable of writing an unsolicited, narcissistic, completely unnecessary book about some small facet of my life.  What was I thinking?  What am I thinking?  Of course, earlier today I watched an interview of a girl my age who wrote a completely ridiculous book that is now being turned into a completely absurd movie and I had the same thought that I always do, “Well, if she can do it.”  Obviously I’d rather not be completely absurd but, for my first try, maybe I can take the pressure off a little and let myself slide with something stupid.  I’m not aiming for “Love in the Time of Cholera”.  “Run Jane, Run” would be an achievement.  God knows I’ve seen much worse than anything I’m capable of producing on bookshelves across the nation.  And anyways, there’s nothing better to do on a rainy day when I can’t be out exploring the city.  So what’s stopping me?

Here’s to having faith and going out on a limb,

AGinDC

p.s. Thanks for the mention DCBlogs!!!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JP said, on 19 August 2010 at 6:39 pm

    You can do it! Love the blog. Distinct voice, and great turn of phrase – looking forward to more posts.

    • agindc said, on 19 August 2010 at 8:45 pm

      Thanks so much! I need all of the positive reinforcement I can get!


Leave a Reply

