An American Girl in Washington

Delivery Groceries!

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 13 August 2010

One of the reasons I love living in a real city (much as I love Ann Arbor) is because of convenience.  I am a strict believer in the 24-hour and the delivery.  Everything should be available 24-hours a day and should be brought straight to your door.  That way, you never have to plan ahead, and you don’t have to leave the house!  Because of this deep sense of laziness and procrastination, I have always wanted to get my groceries delivered and for the last few days I have seen Peapod trucks all over town so I decided to take the plunge.  It was surprisingly easy!  The grocery prices on Peapod were not expensive (although, after living in Michigan, groceries anywhere else seem pricey) and they had pretty good deals on fresh fruit and produce.  I generally don’t buy processed foods (except the occasional life-saving box of cheez-its) so I was a little nervous about the quality of the produce and meat, until my mother reminded me that obviously the food that’s getting delivered will be of the highest quality.  And she was right.

The only downside is that you have to order at least 12 hours ahead of time and they have hours like the cable guy (3:30-9pm) that was then reduced to a two hour window (only because I called) and of course the guy showed up in the last five minutes of the two hour period!  As long as I’m not doing anything with my life that’s fine, but if I ever get a life… it may be a problem.

However, the delivery guy was super polite (although, horror of horrors, I was so engrossed in my book when he showed up that I forgot to tip him! I wrote an effusive compliment on the website to make up for it, I hope he doesn’t hate me!) and everything looks fresh and wonderful.  I’m also happy because from now I get free delivery for the next 60 days.  Woohoo!

We’ll see how this goes, but for now, I like it.

Happy ordering!

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

