An American Girl in Washington

Temporary Digs

Posted in Uncategorized by AGinDC on 8 August 2010

Today I had to say goodbye to the JDub.  Sigh.  It was nice while it lasted.  However, I am so lucky to have wonderful friends like Yosh, who is allowing me to crash with her until I move into my new house hopefully (fingers crossed) in the middle of the week.  Yosh lives in delightful little Cleveland Park, which I have always loved because I adore the zoo and the National Zoo is one of the best.

I didn’t know what to expect when my cab pulled up into the small circular drive of her apartment building but, knowing Yosh, I should have expected divinity.  The lobby would make Jeeves and Wooster feel right at home with its caramel-coloured marble, long pillars and cherubic fountain.  The mirrored elevators and antique carpets give the public spaces a vintage feel and it was a surprise and delight when I opened the old-fashioned door and entered a thoroughly modern apartment.  Hardwood floors, bookshelves filled with volumes in every genre and language, a beautiful white kitchen and walls full of windows give the apartment a large and airy feel that belies its relatively small size.  I sound like a real estate agent!  Anyways, it’s lovely.

Yosh is out of town and I don’t believe in going outside in August any more than I have to so I spent the day reading Terminal Man, the only Michael Crichton novel I haven’t read except his last, which I will start soon.  It’s been nice having a quiet day to ponder after all of the activity of the week.  It hit me today that, aside from a few lunches and social obligations, I have absolutely nothing to do for the rest of my life.  Isn’t that odd?  Never before have I been in a place where the future is entirely open to me with no commitments, obligations, or requirements.  I have always been running from accomplishment to accomplishment and now that I have decided to slow things down and only pursue the person that I really want to be (at least until I turn 30 and waitressing is no longer an option), I have all of the time in the world with nowhere to go and nothing to do.

It’s terrifying,

but thrilling.

Of course, I shall have to do something about money and food and all, but I’m not really so worried about that.  I don’t have many needs except the occasional meal, a frequent drink, and to pay my phone bill on time.  I have enough shoes to get me by- for now- and since I have very few friends here there won’t be many dinners to go out to for a while anyways.  I can probably get by on very little money at all.  That will be a first.  In the meantime, I’ll have all day of every day to decide whether I am really going to pursue my dreams or spend the next 50 years wishing I had.

I guess we’ll see.

Arrivederci, for now,

AGinDC

Leave a Reply

